Skip to main content
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

How do I get a library card?

A FREE Portage County District Library card* is available to anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in Ohio. Children may obtain a library card with a parent/legal guardian's signature. Teachers, homeschool teachers, and institution/school cards are available with proper proof of employment+. Adults, ages 60 and over, are given fine-free status.

A PCDL Children's Card is also available for younger patrons. Call your local PCDL branch or stop by for more information.

Proof of residency includes any of the following: a valid Ohio drivers license, checkbook or a stamped, canceled envelope addressed to them within the last thirty days. 

Required information includes:

Full name
Current local address
Current phone number
A card will not be issued without the required information.

Patrons ages 18 and over may print out the application below (in PDF format) to complete and mail in. Approximately two weeks after receiving the completed application and consent form, a library card will be mailed to your home along with a copy of the library's lending policies.

Mail completed application form to: 

Portage County District Library
ATTN: Outreach Services Manager
10482 South Street
Garrettsville, OH 44231

EMAIL NOTIFICATIONS: Add our email address to your "safe senders" list and your email contacts so your library notices are not blocked:

*There is a $1.00 charge for replacements.  

+Paycheck stub from current employment or documentation from the Portage County Board of Education.

What can I do with my library card?

  • check out materials from our library and any library in the Portage Library Consortium Catalog
  • check out materials from libraries all over the state using SearchOhio and OhioLINK
  • check out digital materials from our Digital Library
  • access free databases on our website

Borrowing times, fines & fees and holds


  • Mobile Hotspots*, Launchpads*, DVDs, Blu-rays, books, music CDs, audiobooks, video games and magazines are checked out for two weeks.
  • All PDCL library materials automatically renew for five (5) renewals. If an item does not renew, patrons will be notified. Items with active holds attached are not eligible for renewal and should be returned.
  • SearchOhio and OhioLINK items must be renewed in-person or over the phone.
  • Teacher and instiutional cards available with loan periods of eight (8) weeks with no renewals.
  • DVDs, Blue-rays, video games, Mobile Hotspots & Launchpads can only be checked out to anyone 18 years or older.
    • *Exception to the renewal policy, these items cannot be renewed.

Fines & Fees

  • PCDL is currently fine free on most items. Items which still accrue daily overdue fines include SearchOhio and OhioLINK materials, Launchpads, and Mobile Hotspots.
  • SearchOhio and OhioLink fine - 50¢ per day, per item.
  • Lost/damaged item - charges depend on cost of the item.
  • Replacement card - $1.00.


  • Use your PCDL card to place your own holds on library materials and to access selected online databases from home on our website.